Why a blog, you might ask…

“I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.”

These words from Lloyd Dobler in 1989 had more affect on my life than I should probably admit.

I’m not blogging to sell, buy, process or repair anything.  This puts me in the minority.

My sister in law recently introduced me to Pinterest.  While I have always considered Facebook to be a royal waste of time (addictive though it is), Pinterest has raised it to new heights.  However, aside from learning the secret to making chalkboard paint (not that I will actually ever make chalkboard paint), I have discovered one or two things about myself.

I have limited interests.  Most of my ‘pins’ (so dorky to even write that) involve:

  • organization
  • photography
  • recipes
  • hair
  • fitness
  • gardening

I wish I was interested in 18th Century French poetry or Middle Eastern politics.  But I’m not.  I do not possess any particular skill or affinity for any of the above mentioned items, but I sure would like to learn something about them.

This blog will be about my attempts to pursue my mundane and pedestrian interests in an attempt to find a hobby that will stick.  I’ll try to be as honest as I can about my successes and failures and pass along anything that I might learn along the way.

First stop?  Photography.  I’ve recently started taking photography classes.  Apparently, there’s more to using a DSLR than Automatic and Program modes.    The pictures in the gallery are a selection from the second assignment. The themes were – a couple, a meaningful portrait, a statute, a bench and a fire hydrant.  The purpose was to emphasis lens selection/focal length and depth of field.  I tried to mix it up a bit.  My favourite lens right now is my ‘nifty fifty’ Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8.  After years of using my point and shoot, I longed for the blurred background I saw in magazines. I now know the cool photography kids call it bokeh.

Funny thing – I sort of forgot how to get EVERYTHING in focus.  Most things I’ve read about photography talk about the holy trinity of photography (ISO, aperture and shutterspeed) but I haven’t read much about lens selection and focal length.  Filling the frame with a focal length of 18 mm (the widest setting on my kit lens) gives a very different picture than filling the same amount of the frame at 55 mm (the most telephoto focal length on my kit lens).

Tomorrow is another class, so we’ll see what’s not the menu for the next assignment!

Leave a Reply

