Round and round the mulberry bush – my attempt at reverse panning

You spin me right round, baby, right round like a record, baby, right round round round

– Dead or Alive

The last couple of posts have been about capturing motion, so I thought I’d add one more to complete the trilogy.

This effect is called reverse panning.  The idea is that the camera is moving at the same rate of speed as the subject.  It’s great for taking pictures from a moving vehicle of another vehicle. A merry-go-round would have been cool too, but I have no idea where to find one anymore.

To get this shot of my little one spinning around, I strapped the camera to my chest.  Yeah, that’s right.  I’m not proud of it but I did strap a camera to my chest.

Like the bike shot from a couple of days ago, I changed the focus mode to AI Servo, which is designed to follow a moving subject to keep it in focus.   I also used drive mode and changed the shooting mode to Continuous.

There is a time delay function for continuous shooting, so I used it as part of the ‘game’ with my little one.  “5-4-3-2-1 go!”  Around ‘2’ I tried to autofocus the camera on her.

And we spun around while the shutter released.

And then I felt a little nauseated.  She soon was bored and moved on to digging in the garden.

It didn’t turn out quite as sharp as I would have liked, but it’s a great expression on her face.

Leave a Reply

