Duck, duck, goose – and an Egret

If it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, we have at least to consider the possibility that we have a small aquatic bird of the family anatidae on our hands.

– Douglas Adams

Our photography class went on a field trip to a local bird sanctuary this weekend.  It’s a perfect time of year to spot migratory birds in Canada.

While many topics were covered, including the need for telephoto lens, the best times of day and locations to spot birds and many other interesting tidbits of information, I thought I’d review what I really learned:

  • I have severe lens envy.  Half the class looked like members of the paparazzi.  And then there was me with my 50-250 mm lens.  Of course, mine didn’t cost $5000.
  • Nature hates me. Okay, not really.  But who knew it was going to be 29 degrees Celsius on the last day of September – in Canada?  I should have worn a hat because I ended up with a blinding headache –a mild case of sunstroke, perhaps?
  • Birds are really lazy when it’s hot.
  • When you are shooting in the middle of nowhere, bring some water.  And a snack.  And a hat.  Did I mention a hat?
  • There are only so many ways that you can photograph birds that aren’t doing anything.  This is particularly true when you don’t have a super telephoto lens.
  • I’d rather take pictures of people than animals.

 

Leave a Reply

